Reviews

Amazon Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars, Great Book, by sjledge2, September 5, 2014
This review is from: Vasallus (Superstars Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)

Received a complimentary copy to read and review. I couldn’t put it down. The characters and the world are just as great as the first book. It has great twists and turns. I would recommend it. Look forward to reading the third one.

5.0 out of 5 stars, Awesome!, by Kayla Johnson, August 4, 2014
This review is from: Vasallus (Superstars Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)

Exciting, well written and original. I have never read a story like this!

5.0 out of 5 stars, very well written, keeps your attention, by Alice Barr, July 29, 2013
This review is from: Vasallus (Superstars Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)

A page turner ! Hard to put down . I’m only a third thru’ the book but can’t wait to finish it and read the third book. I hope it is out soon.

5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, well written, highly recommended!!!, June 10, 2012
By
Louie Alvarez (Las Vegas) – See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Evil Rises (The Superstars Trilogy) (Kindle Edition)

I’ve been reading Kindle eBooks for the last two years since I bought my iPad, since then having upgraded to the iPad 2. Books on the iPad Kindle app are a joy to read, day or night, and I’ve purchased and read upwards of a hundred eBooks in that time frame. My chosen genre is violent novels, I truly enjoy the bad guy having a chance to win, most books always end with the good guy winning but in the real world I don’t feel that is very accurate. This first book of the Superstars Trilogy has captured that so well that I felt I had to write a review. After upwards of a hundred eBooks this is the very FIRST review I’ve ever written! Evil Rises is that good and I wanted to be the first reviewer of this novel and put my opinion of this novel in writing that I personally highly recommend.

As I stated having read upwards of a 100 Kindle eBooks, plus hundreds of books over the past three+ decades I must honestly say that I was expecting little from his book as the author is an unknown, no track record and no history of other books, short stories, nothing, this obviously is his first novel.

BUT the well-designed, attention grabbing book cover caught my attention and I was most intrigued by the book description. After starting off with the prologue giving a base starting point of Satan’s defeat by God and coming up with a master plan for revenge and destruction of mankind I was instantly caught up in the story. So much so I completed the 7992 location (not sure how that correlates to pages) eBook in only a couple of days. You know a book is good when you can’t put it down at the expense of family, work, life, etc. :)

Many books I’ve read in the past have put Satan into somewhat of a human personality, a nice easy going kinda fella. Not so with Evil Rises, the description of this evil entity is well thought out. Satan IMHO is a vicious brute, with no remorse, no morals, no value for life, despises God and mankind and his personality and character should capture that. Kudos to the author, he has done a magnificent job of painting a picture of the most vicious creature that Satan should be and the lengths he will go through to make its point. Well done indeed! Needless to say the havoc he wrecks upon his chosen victims is nothing short of brilliant.

Now after reading many great novels the best in my opinion are able to take characters from all walks of life, create their background to make a connection to the reader and give them their own life and personality that later in the novel they meet and interact well together. In Evil Rises there are 7 couples spread across the world that each have a unique city, lifestyle, language, religion, etc. The author did such a magnificent job of painting the picture in my mind to make the connection, to recognize the area described and make that character flow perfectly with their element. Most impressive, I would say this word picture painting is on par with some of the well known, well established authors of today and that is what makes this author so impressive, it’s his only book that I could locate. I see a future for this writer and a possible movie based on the Superstars Trilogy.

A highly recommended read, not for the faint of heart, maybe not even for the under aged, although I have my 13 year old reading it and she is thoroughly enjoying it as well. I’ve already gifted this novel to my wife and mom so I stand behind the recommendation as it is a very well written novel. Satan is painted as the monster he should be, the characters and their encounter with Satan are well thought out and the ending leaves the reader in anticipation for the next release of this trilogy.

My only complaint is that I have to wait for the next novel, bummer :(

Blair – See all my reviews
This review is from: Evil Rises: Superstars Trilogy (Volume 1) (Paperback)
I would highly recommend this book as it was a real page turner with some exciting characters and a few surprise twists. There are characters that you will love and some you will hate. I’m really looking forward to the next book.

5.0 out of 5 stars A diabolical novel of good vs evil, November 5, 2012
By
Great Historicals (Canada and USA) – See all my reviews
This review is from: Evil Rises: Superstars Trilogy (Volume 1) (Paperback)

Superstars by author Errol Barr is a novel about the Devil that spans the centuries. It begins in the early days of 400 A.D. where the Devil vanquishes a queen in order to convince the king to eliminate Christianity. When he refuses, it unleashes the Devil’s wrath that continues forth into the future to modern day.

The author skillfully weaves together numerous subplots relating to Satan. The dastardly wrath of the Devil progresses as the story unfolds, holding the readers interest. It is very much a story about good vs. evil, of faith vs. doubt, of love vs. hate. Beautifully edited and invisibly written, it is easy to fall into the story because of the easy-to-read prose. Despite the numerous characters and complex plot, the story is easy to follow and one to enjoy.

4.0 out of 5 stars Epicly unique; a modern take on the struggles between God fearing men and Satanic temptation., August 19, 2012
By
S (England) – See all my reviews
This review is from: Evil Rises (The Superstars Trilogy) (Kindle Edition)

Sex. In the opening line we’re presented with a sex scene gone wrong.

Tiridates (aged 68!) is having sex with his wife when the Devil appears and demands that Tiridates work for him to end the spread of Christianity in Armenia. As a show of force he kills Queen Bitus and threatens Tiridates’ seven sons.

In a fit of defiance Tiridates goes the other way becoming a St Patrick like evangelist for the Christian movement and laying the groundwork for the events that follow.

Civil war in Armenia is spectacularly concluded in ‘Prologue, part 2’ with Satan being denied his conquest and forced to revert to a less obvious plan.

Fast forward from 400 AD to the present and Satan’s work is seen in a variety of locations from Maracaibo to Ireland and even Hollywood we see a blend of ethnicities and socioeconomic groups that give the story a very metropolitan feel. This is done through a number of, at first, unconnected threads; a paranormal strangulation in Venezuela, a ‘girl next door’ style romance at the Fenway that spans a generation in a chapter (giving a rich back-story to James and Nancy) and a demonic rape resulting in a pregnancy that cannot be terminated on pain of death.

These disparate subplots are tied together by Satanic involvement. The Prince of Darkness has moved from an all out war brute force approach as seen in the prologue to subtle coercion and subjugation of the human race. This in an intricately plotted novel. If an analogy to existing stories could be made then it would be the horsemen of the apocalypse reincarnate. At the heart of this novel is the tension between selfish desire and faith and the spectrum of responses that this engenders in the human condition. Priests and parishioners, Oxford grads and the great unwashed, Barr gives a firsthand view of characters from all walks of life. Described as an epic struggle, Rise of Satan is definitely epic in nature. At 436 estimated pages it is certainly a tome-like fantasy, and this is only a third of the overall storyline.

One nice touch in the quality of this book is the use of dividers between chapter which comes in the form of a beautiful Gothic image of a gargoyle and wrought iron which separates each scene neatly. For a novel of this magnitude the formatting is excellent and the linguistic style is consistent throughout

There are quite a lot of characters to keep track of. With 47 chapters (plus a 2 part prologue) this is to be expected. The end of this novel definitely leaves much ground left to cover which is no mean feat given how much has already been packed in. I’m looking forward to seeing how this is resolved particularly the mortal peril in which one character finds herself in the closing chapter. As a single volume this story does leave loose threads to be picked in the rest of the trilogy but the subplots stand on their own without issue. I do wonder whether the story could have benefitted from a little more trimming as, at this rate, the whole trilogy won’t be far off the 2000 pages mark. Any concerns however are stylistic in nature and that always invites an element of subjectivity. The craft behind this is solid, and I highly recommend trying out the free sample to see if this is your cup of tea.

The question this stories begs is can the world be redeemed or will fire and brimstone consume us all as eternal damnation unfolds?

This has the potential to become a real classic in it’s niche and is a unique examination of what it means to be human and whether spirituality has a place in a modern world. I look forward to checking out the next two instalments to see how Barr wraps this one up.
5.0 out of 5 stars I want more, August 17, 2012
By
Yrtrah – See all my reviews
This review is from: Evil Rises: The Superstars Trilogy (Volume 1) (Paperback)
I had no expectations when I started to read Errol Barr’s first novel. As you get into the book you feel the plot developing without it being predictable. The author draws you into the multiple story lines as the characters come to life. This first book in the trilogy ends with a hook that will leave you standing in line for Part II.

Well done Errol Barr. I will definitely be reading Part II when it is released. I am picturing Vince Vaughn as Robert Best if and when someone has the good sense to make a movie based on this great read.

4.0 out of 5 stars Superstars – Evil Rises, July 25, 2012
By
belizeit – See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Evil Rises: The Superstars Trilogy (Volume 1) (Paperback)

Definitely a book to recommend to your friends, well written, excellent read, looking forward to the release of Book 2.

Review by: Kelly Stewart on Aug. 16, 2012 : (no rating)
For the first book from this writer I think it was quite well done.
I thoroughly enjoyed it and am waiting for book two and three.
I got caught up in the various characters and am left wanting to
know what happens next

Leave a Reply